Ryan Seacrest Announced As New Host of Wheel of Fortune

The emcee will take over after current host Pat Sajak's retirement.

Ryan Seacrest is adding another job to his extensive resume—in 2024, after Pat Sajak retires from hosting Wheel of Fortune, it’ll be Ryan’s job to hold the cards and snark about vowels. In announcements from both Ryan Seacrest and Sony, the 48-year-old will become the newest host of America’s Game.

“I’m truly humbled to be stepping into the footsteps of the legendary Pat Sajak. I can say, along with the rest of America, that it’s been a privilege and pure joy to watch Pat and Vanna on our television screens for an unprecedented 40 years, making us smile every night and feel right at home with them,” Seacrest said in a statement.

Ryan Seacrest is no stranger to being an emcee—like most “traditional” game show hosts, Seacrest started his career as a radio DJ until moving to Los Angeles to continue pursuing a career in entertainment. His first hosting roles were for children’s game shows—Gladiators 2000, Wild Animal Games, and perhaps fittingly, Merv Griffin’s Click. Seacrest’s broadcasting career is illustrious, as he has often become the successor of many legends in media: he took over the American Top 40 after Casey Kasem, New Year’s Rockin’ Eve after Dick Clark, and the co-chair of Live with Kelly Ripa after Regis (and also Michael Strahan, but come on, I’ve got words to fill here).

In talks with industry insiders, I’ve been told that Sony didn’t consider anyone else for the position, and the person they were speaking to was the only person who they were entertaining for the role. They seemed to have learned their lesson from the hosting debacle that plagues its sister show, Jeopardy!.

In addition to hosting, he will also be a consulting producer of the show. Sajak will also be a consulting producer of Wheel for three years after he retires from hosting.

Seacrest joins Sajak in the List of American Wheel of Fortune hosts, which also include Chuck Woolery, Bob Goen, and former NFL kicker Rolf Benirschke.